N.S. Jones's Blog

After publishing my post My Wide Vocabulary, I was suddenly reminded of a song from the musical My Fair Lady called Why Can’t the English?  The first line sets the tone of the whole song, “Why can’t the English teach their children how to speak?”  The song, though it was written in the context of pre-WWI England, still has relevance today as it did in those days as a lot of people don’t seem to speak ‘proper’ English; myself included, on occasion.  Whenever I say ‘gotten’ instead of ‘got’ or mispronounce a word or name, my Dad always corrects me if I haven’t already done it myself.  And then he would go on about how English isn’t just English anymore.  I think it’s because most people copy what they see on television because they think it’s fashionable, and it just so happens that a lot of what they…

Lihat pos aslinya 112 kata lagi

Tinggalkan Balasan

